moving picture

I have been pretty quiet on the blog lately because we moved again.  This time it was only 10 minutes away from our previous abode.  It was a big deal to us because we bought our first house!  This has been a long drawn out process (as it always seems to be).  I went from house hunting to paperwork to packing to cleaning, more packing, cleaning again.  We down sized this time, which is a good thing.  Our other house had so much space that we actually forgot to move a room on moving day!  It has been an adventure, and God has helped us throughout the whole process.  The picture above pretty well sums up my life for the last 3 months – boxes, laundry, and messes.  Most of the boxes are unpacked now . . . laundry, now that’s never going away.  It will be good to get back to writing again.  I have missed the blog!

I am studying the Psalms right now.  It has been such an encouragement after all the time I’ve spent working on the house.  As disorganized as everything has been around here, I relate with some of David’s laments.  Psalm 4:1,3, & 8 says:

Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!  You have given me relief when I was in distress.  Be gracious to me and hear my prayer! . . . But I know that the Lord has set apart the godly for Himself; the Lord hears when I call to Him. . . . In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.

It seems like something goes wrong with the house every time we turn around (which is why we have lived here more than a month and I still haven’t hung our pictures on the walls).  Even in all of these problems, I see God’s hand at work providing for us and helping me to be somewhat calm.  I will admit, I haven’t handled all of this graciously, but the fact that I haven’t lost my mind shows that God is sustaining me even when I don’t turn to him right away.  So, getting back to the Psalms.  Psalm 16 has really encouraged me the last few days.

Preserve me, O God, for in You I take refuge.  I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from You.”  As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight.  The sorrows of those who run after another god shall multiply; their drink offerings of blood I will not pour out or take their names on my lips.  The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; You hold my lot.  The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.  I bless the Lord who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.  I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.  Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.  For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption.  You make known to me the path of life; in Your presence there is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forever more.

I especially like the parts “I have no good apart from You”, “in Your presence there is fullness of joy”, and “at Your right hand are pleasures forever more.”  I am learning more and more that anything good we experience is a gift from God.  We don’t deserve these good things, but He gives them because He loves us.  It is all to bring glory to His name – not for me to say “look at the good things I have done and God has rewarded me for them.”  I’m so glad we get to enjoy God!

I’ve been listening to a lot of music (mostly because my youngest daughter turns it on all the time) – I can listen while you unpack.  One song in particular that has resonated with me is “Be Still My Soul/What a Friend We Have in Jesus” performed by Selah.  Click here to listen!  I hope it encourages your heart.

May God bless you richly.  And hopefully I will have more time to write now that our move is behind me!

