img_20170103_140828365

I love to read!  I haven’t had much time for leisure reading for myself lately.  Most of my reading is done for an audience of children who are full of questions. I did get to read a really good book this week though!  It was a great way to start out the new year.  Kevin got the book Street God by: Dimas Salaberrios after hearing him speak at Church one Sunday.  Kevin doesn’t go on and on about books very often, but he couldn’t help but tell me things about this one.  I thought he might as well just read it aloud to me.  He didn’t, so as soon as he finished reading it, I read it.

Dimas tells of his life on the streets, and his determination to become a drug boss.  I had never read anything like this before.  It opened my eyes to the realities that so many children face every day.  As I was reading this book, I was especially aware of  the things we saw in New Orleans while living there. At the time, I had no idea how things worked on the streets.

Jesus delivered Dimas from a terrible life and gave him a new determination.  It was a joy to read of his deliverance from drugs and crime.  I am amazed how God can take a person who has so much against them and transform them into a light that shows His love to the world.

Reading this book confirmed in my heart the importance of our prayers for the lost around us, and the importance of obeying when God prompts us to do something.  God is not done working in our midst.  Don’t be fooled by the statistics on declining Church attendance and the reports of Churches across the country closing their doors – God is still moving in hearts of people today.  He is working miracles.  I would venture to say that if we are not experiencing God in this way, it is because our prayers are half-hearted and our obedience is lacking.  I am challenged to devote myself to praying for others more and to seeking God with renewed faith that believes in the impossible!

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be glory in the Church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

-Ephesians 3:20-21

