img_20161204_122356522

Being new to the Chicago area, I am really loving the snow!  I know a lot of people dislike it because it causes road hazards, and they have to do extra work to shovel it off the driveway (my thanks to Kevin for taking care of that for our family).  This was the first good snow fall I have experienced  in thirteen years.  It was beautiful!  I’m so glad it happened on a weekend day that we were able to stay home and enjoy the wonder of it.  Throughout the morning our whole family was watching out the various windows of the house.  I couldn’t help but laugh when I realized that Kevin and I were watching the snow from windows in rooms at opposite ends of the house.  All morning the kids were begging me to let them go outside and play in it, but there wasn’t even enough to do much with.  I made them wait till after 4pm to go out.  By that time there was a nice thick layer on the ground, and plenty of wide open space for the kids to build snow men, make snow angels, and throw snow balls.  I hated to see the ugly dead leaves exposed again as we rolled our snowballs across the yard, but it was so worth it to see the smiles and hear the laughter of my children as we played together!  It was dark before we went inside, so I turned on the lights around the back of the house.  The light reflecting off the tiny snow flakes looked like diamonds glittering all over the clean snow.  I couldn’t help but think of Psalm 51:7.  It says:

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

I love this passage!  I continue to read in Psalm 51:8-12.

Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice.  Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities.  Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me, Cast me not away from Your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me.  Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

I keep thinking about how ugly and dead everything in our yard looks.  It’s a good visual of our condition without Christ.  Then, when Jesus covers us with His cleansing blood, we are whiter than snow!  I am no longer picturing plain white snow.  Now my picture of how beautiful we are in Christ is a picture of radiantly sparkling snow that shines like diamonds in the light of His love.

img_20161204_170410737

Thank You, Jesus, for the joy that You have given us.  We are clean because of Your sacrifice.  Thank You for taking away our guilt.  Renew us!  Give us a spirit that is willing to obey You.  Thank You for the gift of the Holy Spirit to teach, guide, and comfort us.  Please help us to keep our eyes on You.  You are truly wonderful!

The Lord passed before him [Moses] and proclaimed, “The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, but who will by no means clear the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children and the children’s children, to the third and the fourth generation.

-Exodus 34:6-7

Listen to Whiter than Snow

