img_20161119_104924356

This year for Thanksgiving it was just Kevin and I and the kids.  We missed being with our extended family, but we didn’t let that put a damper on our celebration.  True to my upbringing, I planned a huge dinner.  Kevin and I worked together fixing everything, including a huge 20 pound turkey that we soaked in brine the night before.  It was delicious!  I tried so hard, but I did not acheive perfection . . . but I think what we acheived was better than perfection.  I got dinner on the table later than I planned and forgot the mac-n-cheese (which wasn’t completely set the first time I took it out of the oven – it didn’t burn, thankfully).  The house was a mess, the kids were wearing whatever they wanted, and we did not get to do all the activities we had planned.  Now for the “better than perfection” part of the story:  I didn’t lose my cool about all of it!!!  I was able to acknowledge my disappointment and move on without letting it ruin my evening.  We ate dinner and talked about the things for which we were thankful (which included Jesus, people who cover their mouth when they cough, food, God, being together as a family, and restored joy).  

Now that Thanksgiving Day is past, I find myself continuing to focus on the things with which I have been blessed.  We barely made a dent in that turkey, so we will be eating leftovers many times.  I hope that the “thankfulness leftovers” will continue many times over as well.  Psalm 146:1-2:

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord, O my soul!  I will praise the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.

This past Sunday the guest speaker was talking about joy.  One of the things that stood out to me is his statement that perfection is not a requirement for joy.  What a relief!  I can still have the joy of the Lord even in my imperfections.  Keeping my eyes on Him and remembering what great things He has done for me is the way to keep the joy of the Lord Jesus.  With His strenght I am striving to do this!  Romans 15:13:

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

 

