img_20160821_154345000

I haven’t been blogging much lately, and I realized that I was letting other good things distract me from this one good thing that I know God wants me to do.  I have been doing a lot of reading for personal growth (no guilt over that).  I have been doing reading with my kids (no problem there either).  My problem comes from Facebook and Whatsapp.  One thing helps me stay connected with family and friends who are far away; the other has a Bible discussion group from Church.  Both of these things are good.  The problem comes when I let them distract me from the things that God has called me to do: Minister to my husband and kids, Study for my own personal growth, Write the blog, and be an encouragement to others I come in contact with.  

All this talk of distractions reminds me of the book of Nehemiah.  When I was living in New Orleans, Calvary Baptist Church went through a study of Nehemiah.  One of the verses our pastor drove home to us was Nehemiah 6:3

And I sent messengers to them saying, “I am doing a great work and I cannot come down.  Why should the work stop while I leave it and come down to you?

If you read this verse in context, it is talking about how the enemies of the Jews were trying to lure Nehemiah into a trap so that they could kill him.  We have an enemy of our souls who is trying to lure us away from the work God has for us to do.  John 10:10 says:

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.  I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

Satan will use anything – even seemingly good things to keep us from doing the will of God.  I am being reminded that God has not called us only to do good, but more specifically, He has called us to obey Him.  When God impresses on your heart to do something, you will know it!  No amount of good things will replace obedience to the Father.  James 4:17 says:

Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”  As it is, you boast in your arrogance.  All such boasting is evil.  So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.

All these things have been going around in my head, and I am finally ready to be more careful to cut out distractions.  I’m not giving up Facebook or Whatsapp, but what I am doing is turning off my notifications.  If the chimes aren’t constantly alerting me to new conversations and posts, then I won’t be drawn away from what I am supposed to be doing.  I can still check on my accounts, but they won’t be demanding my attention.  I am going to need help from the Lord to stick with this decision.  I don’t like to feel like I’m missing anything. But if I change my perspective, I’ll see that when I’m letting distractions take over, I’m missing the most important things that God has for me.  Pray for me in this!  And I’ll pray for you too if you would like.

