IMG_20160822_133532

Life can be very challenging.  Sometimes we feel expecially challenged even though we don’t seem to be facing anything big at the time.  This is how my day was yesterday.  I am especially thankful for new friends who support me even though they barely know me.  It would have been easier to just hide away at home, but I would have missed out on the blessing of spending an afternoon talking with other believers in our section group at Church and seeing the peace and beauty of a picnic by the pond.  Our life is so fragile and fleeting.  So many things can change without warning.  Making a good day seem bad with changing emotions and pressure to keep moving forward.  The Bible says in James 4:14-15:

Yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring.  What is your life; For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.  Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”

And Isaiah 40:8 says

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever.

This challenges me to refocus on the Lord.  Focusing on myself and what I am going through can be so discouraging.  I don’t have answers for myself, but God does have the answer to every problem I face.  He knows the “why” behind everything that I struggle with, and He cares about me.

Thank You Lord for being my Sure Foundation (Isaiah 33:6 NIV)!  Help me to keep my eyes on You.

Listen to this song: He Knows My Name

 

 

