IMG_20160814_135627

This summer has been full of adjustments.  We moved to a new house in a new state with a new Church.  We’ve been making new friends, shopping at new stores, and learning new laws.  All this change has made the summer fly by too quickly for this homeschooling mom.  We had come to the place of monotony with our daily routine about 3 weeks ago, so I decided we needed to get ready for school to start.  

We started with a crash!  We tried a new curriculum this year, and I found out in a hurry that it was good for my kids in some subjects, but not for everything.  Not to mention that it is internet based, and we aren’t used to using computers for school.  I spent the whole first day getting computers set up, running back and forth among the children helping them navigate the unfamiliar, and answering an unforseen number of questions.  My day ended with a massive headache.  Kevin came home after a long day at the Global Leadership Summit to me laying on a heating pad.  I quickly informed him that I was going to take some pain killers, and he could take over for the evening.

Day two was a little better.  It certainly helped that our computers were all updated, and the kids were a little more familiar with how things worked.  I am not a fan of change, so I quickly decided that we needed to order our “old curriculum” for math, language arts, and reading.  Unfortunately, we will have to wait for those materials to arrive before we can start with those subjects, so we are continuing on with the online school work.  I’m hoping that by the time the new books get here, we will be used to doing school.  I’m hoping for a smooth transition.  I’m having to offer myself and the kids some extra grace this year.  I’m so thankful for the perspective that I have as I read about other moms dealing with the start of school.  It seems that many of us are struggling this year . . . just know, you are not alone!  We will struggle together, and hopefully support each other as we try to do what we believe is right for our families.

I’ve been reading in Isaiah, which is always a hard book for me.  There is so much imagery mixed in with judgement, prophecy, and promise of a better day.  Sometimes I have to read a passage several times before I can absorb what it is really saying.  I was thankful for Isaiah 35:3-6 today:

Strengthen the weak hands, and make firm the feeble knees.  Say to those who have an anxious heart, “Be strong; fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God.  he will come and save you.” Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf unstopped; then shall the lame man leap like a deer, and the tongue of the mute sing for joy.  For waters break forth in the wilderness, and streams in the desert;

Teaching my kids at home is a daunting task for me.  I feel like there is a lot at stake.  I don’t want to fail them.  I’m so glad to know that God will help me – even save me when I am faltering.  I sure need a “stream in the desert” especially on those days when I feel depleted.  There is so much uncertainty in life.  It’s easy to be distracted by what might go wrong.  I need to keep my eyes on the Lord!  Isaiah 33:5-6 says:

The Lord is exalted, for He dwells on high; He will fill Zion with justice and righteousness, and He will be the stability of your times, abundance of salvation, wisdom, and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is Zions’s treasure.

I need Jesus to be my stability!  I need His salvation, wisdom, and knowledge!  James 1:5-8 says:

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.  But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.  For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

I have probably shared these verses before.  I keep coming back to them because I need God to build my faith, remove my doubts, and give me the stability that I need.  The world tells us to look to psychology, self help books, friends, education, money, government, etc . . . for the help that we need, but Jesus is the only One who can meet all of our needs.  Monday will be day three of our school year, and I pray that God will help me to have a fresh start and look to Him as I guide my children and make decisions in how best to teach them!

Thank You Lord for loving me and being generous in the help that You give!

