image

I’ve been reading through the Psalms lately, and the over arching theme is Praise.  I used to praise a lot.  When I was in high school, music was my favorite thing.  I would sing all the time.  I remember baby sitting for a family we used to go to Church with.  I would put their kids to bed and sit in their bedroom and sing every song I could think of.  I even practiced the Latin songs that our school choir was singing for competition.  I don’t know what those children really thought about all my singing, but I know that God loved it!
I don’t take the time to sing as much now as I used to.  The worries of life have crowded in, and it’s just not as much of a habit as it was when I was younger and care free.  With all the kids to care for throughout the day, sometimes I’ll go a whole week without singing.  It’s sad.  I want to get back to singing, but honestly, sometimes I don’t feel like it.  I was thinking about my lack of desire to sing the other day as I was reading Psalm 95:

Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!  Let us come into His presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to Him with songs of praise!  For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods.

Then I realized, our praise for God shouldn’t depend on our feelings.  I am to praise Him and sing to Him whether I feel like it or not.  God is worthy of my praise even when I don’t feel like giving Him praise.  What a challenge.  I have to stop making decisions based on my feelings.  I am so glad that God is consistently loving even when I am inconsistent in demonstrating my love for Him.

Hebrews 13:15 says:

Through Him then let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of the lips that acknowledge His name. Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God.

I really think it is all about focus.  If I am focused on myself, my problems, or what I don’t have, then I will have a bad attitude and a complaining spirit.  If I am focused on God, the gift of salvation through Jesus, and the eternal home He is preparing for me in heaven, then my spirit will have a song of praise.  So, lets stop talking about praising and get busy doing it!

Listen to this song: We bring the sacrifice of praise!

