IMG_20160524_163406401

I haven’t blogged in several weeks because we have been in the process of moving to a new city!  For those who don’t know, my family and I had been trying to move to the Chicago area for 9 months – as we believed this was God’s plan for us.  My husband went looking for work and housing while I stayed back in the New Orleans area (home to us for 8 years).  Things did not work out as quickly as we expected, so after he had been there 2 months, we decided it would be best for me to visit family until we were able to get some housing.  This process dragged on and on . . . I stayed 3 months with my parents, and then 4 months with my husbands family.  God used this difficult time to build our faith.  There were many nights that we talked on the phone, wondering if God was really going to work all of this out.  We grew impatient, loneliness and doubt filled our hearts.  We had to cling to God – believing He was going to provide a way even though we couldn’t see how.  I was afraid of what people were going to say if things didn’t work out . . . but I was more afraid of what would happen if we didn’t do what we believed God was calling us to do.

During this time, I was challenged in ways I hadn’t been before.  Many people questioned what we were doing.  People said that God wouldn’t call us to do something that was so difficult . . . that God wouldn’t call us to be separated for so long in the process of moving . . . all of this was discouraging.  We had to filter what we were hearing from people through the truths of the Bible.  God brought to mind many stories in the Bible of people He called to follow Him in ways that didn’t make sense to those around them.  Abraham and Sarah left their home to go to a place that they did not know (Genesis 12:1).  Moses left Midian to lead the Israelites out of captivity.  He was separated from his wife and sons during part of this time (Exodus 18:2).  Mark 10:28-31 was one of the most encouraging verses for me:

Peter began to say to him, ‘See, we have left everything and followed you.’  Jesus said, ‘Truly, I say to you, there is no one who has left house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or lands, for my sake and for the gospel, who will not receive a hundredfold now in this time, houses and brothers and sisters and mothers and children and lands, with persecutions, and in the age to come eternal life.  But many who are first will be last, and the last first.’

It is so important for us to keep our eyes on Jesus and what He teaches rather than trying to please people . . . most of whom are well meaning, but they are not always telling us to do the same things that God is calling us to do.

I said all of that to say: Our waiting time is finished!!!  We have made it to Chicagoland and are settled into our house.  Now we get to see what God wants to do in and through us here in this new place.  He has been so faithful to us over the years – taking care of us through seminary, through military service, through the births of our children, through tragedy, through unemployment, and through every moment of our lives!  2 Timothy 2:11-13:

The saying is trustworthy, for: If we have died with Him, we will also live with Him; if we endure, we will also reign with Him; if we deny Him, He also will deny us; if we are faithless, He remains faithful – for He cannot deny Himself.

I’m so thankful for God’s faithfulness to me!  And I’m beyond excited to be reunited with my husband in the new land where God has called us to follow Him.  Our journey has only begun!

