Reading Rainbow heart book

When I was a kid, my brother and I loved to watch Reading Rainbow.  The books they featured always had great illustrations, and after watching them I would always be eager to go to the library.  I remember watching the kids do their reviews on the books they were recommending and being disappointed because those books weren’t going to be read on the show.  Reading Rainbow helped many in my generation to develop a love for reading.  If you want to take a walk down memory lane with me, you can click this link:
Listen to the theme song!

Sometimes I think we need a show like that for the Bible.  Come to think of it, our Sunday services are kind of like the show.  There is preaching on a story from the Bible with the intent of helping you to learn to love reading the Bible.  The preacher draws out lessons we can learn from what we have read.  The difference is that unlike the show, when we read the Bible, we aren’t going to some imaginary place!  These are true stories about our Creator who loves us and wants to rescue us from eternal suffering.  And the things that the Bible teaches we can become are real and lasting changes that God will make in our lives through the power of the Holy Spirit.  When the service is over, we aren’t left hanging while we wait to go to the library and find the rest of the books to read, we have all of the Bible right there to read (and if someone doesn’t have a Bible, I’m sure the Church would be happy to give them one!).  It is sad that many of us aren’t excited about reading the Bible . . . we’ve lost our passion for the things of God.  Lets pray together that God would move among us and stir in us a passion for Him and His Word! Psalm 119:113-114 says:

I hate the double-minded, but I love your law.  You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in Your Word.

Reading the Bible will take you on the greatest adventure of your life as you get to know the Creator and Savior.  It is a story that will change your life and let you become a part of the story.  Hebrews 4:12 says:

For the Word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

I could keep on telling you all the wonderful things about the Bible, but the real benefit will come when you pick up a copy and read for yourself!  As LeVar Burton of Reading Rainbow would say: “But you don’t have to take my word for it.”

