IMG_20160321_143442752

I have been thinking a lot about how discontented we are as Americans – compared to people of other nations who have so little.  It’s really ridiculous to see some of the stuff that we complain about.  We are more like the nation of Israel than we want to admit.  As a mom, I can relate to the anger God had when Israel would complain about the manna He gave them to eat . . . its disheartening to spend an hour or more preparing a meal only to have your children complain about what you fixed.  When I hear my children complain, God pricks my heart as if to say “You have been ungrateful and complaining about the gifts in your life!  I have given you so much – recognize the gifts in your life and be thankful!”  When I have a complaining spirit, it always helps me to look at who I am without Jesus (so sinful, weak, and unworthy) and then to look at who I am with Jesus (forgiven, saved, and filled with the power of God).  I Samuel 12:24 says:

Only fear the Lord and serve Him faithfully with all your heart.  For consider what great things He has done for you.

This song has lifted my spirit and helped me to remember what Jesus has done for me: Listen to “O the Blood” by: Kari Jobe, click here.

Another thing that causes me to complain is when I think what I want is better than what God has placed in my life.  I have to remember that God really does have my best interests in mind, and that He will use everything in my life to accomplish His will for me.  He takes the hard things and uses them to draw me closer to Him.  I just need to trust Him.  Being closer to God is so much more important than my physical comfort!  Psalm 63:3-4 says:

Because Your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise You.  So I will bless You as long as I live; in Your name I will lift up my hands.

This song has encouraged me to remember to focus on the good that God is accomplishing in my life even through adversity. To listen to “You are Good” by: Kari Jobe, click here.

The best way I’ve found to overcome complaining is to seek God!  When I truly seek Him, I confess my sins, and I experience God’s goodness.  This doesn’t mean that I get what I want, but I always get what I need!  Isaiah 55:6-7 says:

Seek the Lord while He may be found; call upon Him while He is near; let the wicked forsake His way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the Lord, that He may have compassion on him, and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon.  For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, declares the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

To listen to “The More I seek You” by: Kari Jobe, click here.

I’m so thankful that God is compassionate!  He doesn’t give up on me.  He continues to teach me and help me to grow!  He is worthy of our praise!

 

 

 

