empty plate

We are needy people.  Always wanting more.  I always feel a bit overwhelmed at meal time; after spending and hour and a half cooking for my family, I watch the children devour everything on their plates . . . without fail, one of them will ask: “Mom, what else can we eat?”  If I’m lucky, I’ll have enough food left to give them a second serving of whatever they liked best, or at least have some type of dessert to offer (which is never turned down!).  But sometimes I’m not so lucky, and I find myself being hounded by kids – who just ate generous helpings of food – wanting more.  Sometimes I cave and find them a dessert, which is usually what they really want.  But other times I have to tell them, “No, you’ve had enough!  You’re going to make yourselves sick!”  And of course that response is not well accepted.  I imagine God sees us that way many times as we have so much, yet we want more!

Tonight I was thinking about all the times we ask God for things that He doesn’t give us.  James 4:2b-3

You do not have, because you do not ask.  You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

I know I’ve been doing this lately!  I pray for things because I want my life to be easier.  In those moments, I’m not thinking about what will bring God glory.  I just want to have my own way.  God, in His wisdom, doesn’t give me everything I want because He sees the bigger picture and knows what is best for me.  God’s desire is that I will want Him more than my own comfort; that even in the middle of hard times, I’ll have the joy of the Lord and praise Him instead of becoming angry that I didn’t get my own way.  James 4:6-8 says:

But He gives more grace.  Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”  Submit yourselves therefore to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you.  Cleanse your hands, you sinners and purify your hearts, you double-minded.

I’m so thankful that God draws near to us!  When I confess my sin to God, telling Him how sorry I am for being selfish, He forgives me and restores the close relationship with Him. He is always ready to help me get my heart right before Him.  I am praying that God will help me to want Him more than anything else.  After all, He is what my heart really longs for . . . none of the other stuff lasts.

Forever Reign

 

