IMG_20160322_134225442

Have you ever been so tired that you couldn’t think straight and everything you tried to do stressed you out?  That’s been me the last few days.  Having a baby who is teething and has trouble sleeping will do that to you (which is why I haven’t been writing blog posts the last couple of days).  Sometimes it seems like no matter what you do, you just can’t get the rest that you desperately need.  Sleep deprivation will mess up your whole system, making you need more food than normal, affecting your decision making, reaction time,  and your moods.  That’s what I’ve been dealing with the last few days.  I keep reminding myself that I just need more sleep and everything will look better. I’ve also been thinking about the rest that we receive from God (Matthew 11:28):

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Sometimes when I haven’t been getting enough sleep, I wish it was as easy as just climbing up into Jesus’ lap and taking a nap . . . but that hasn’t happened!  I have found that getting the rest I need has more to do with making wise decisions throughout the day.  If I haven’t been getting enough rest, I don’t need to be wearing myself out on things that can wait.  I won’t worry about  folding the laundry and am careful not to overwork myself with cleaning the house.  I also try to let the kids know that I’m very tired so that they don’t expect (or demand) too much of me.  Also trying to get in bed at a decent hour should be a priority (I struggle with this one).

One of the most important things we can do when we’re sleep deprived is ask God to give the strength we need to get through the day.  He promises to meet our needs . . . and sometimes what we need is to be sleep deprived so that we will depend on Him more.  Psalm 73:26 says:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

I’m so glad that God doesn’t expect me to “pull myself up by my boot straps” and power through the hard days on my own.  He is right here with me giving me the things that I really need – spiritual nourishment and growth!  I can say with the Psalmist in Psalm 116:7:

Gracious is the Lord, and righteous; our God is merciful.  The Lord preserves the simple; when I was brought low, He saved me.  Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.

So, tonight I’m hoping for a good night’s sleep, but if that doesn’t happen, I’ll be resting in the Lord.  I’m trusting Him to carry me though my sleep deprived haze until my baby is able to sleep better.

