IMG_20160319_134129907

I was reading the other day and came across this verse: 2 Peter 1:3-4

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us to his own glory and excellence, by which He has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.

After reading it, I got to thinking.  How am I going to become a partaker of His divine nature if I don’t know what His promises are?  I need to know Him.  I need to get into the study of the Bible and find His promises.  I want to become a partaker of the divine nature.  

Of course, I’ve read the promises before, but I haven’t paid too much attention to them.  Almost as if it’s not really a promise to me . . . I want to change that!  I want to read the Bible and apply all of it to my life.  I found this verse in some of my study over the last few weeks: Romans 15:4

For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.

I don’t know about you, but I need a dose of hope daily!  Life is overwhelming!  If I want to live it well, then I need God’s Word and the power of the Holy Spirit giving me encouragement and strength.  I have a lot of little ones depending on me, and I have to depend on the Lord to fill me up so that I have something to pour out for my children.  God is faithful!  He gives me what I need when I go to Him . . . it is my failure to go to Him that gets me into trouble.  So, I am searching out promises of God.  I’ve got a pretty good list to start with that I found in the back of my Mom’s Devotional Bible.  I can’t wait to get started!

How about you?  What promises of God to you cling to?  Or do you need to get into the Bible and search out the promises so that you will know what they are?

