IMG_20160320_124849817

The other day, after everyone else went to bed, I stayed up and watched TV.  I haven’t done that in a long time.  I enjoyed the shows that I watched and kept telling myself, “I’ll just watch one more.” Before I knew it, the time was 11:30.  And as all of you who have young children know, sleeping in isn’t an option.  The next morning I was struggling to wake up for the day and have a cheerful attitude.  I regretted spending so much of my time on television.  Can anyone relate?

If I could have a “do-over” I would have spent my time doing something that will count for eternity (or at least gotten in bed earlier).  Psalm 102:25-27 says:

Of old You laid the foundation of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands.  They will perish, but You will remain; they will all wear out like a garment.  You will change them like a robe, and they will pass away, but You are the same, and Your years have no end.  The children of Your servants shall dwell secure; their offspring shall be established before You.

Everything in this world is going to “pass away.”  It would be such a tragedy for me to pour my life into things of this world and then have nothing to show for it at the end of my life!  But look what will remain and be established: God will remain, and the children will be established before God.  Now, this is not claiming that your children will be saved just because you are saved, but rather, that an investment into your children is an investment into eternity.  And time spent with God is never wasted!  Studying the Bible, praying, meditating on God’s Word, loving and serving others . . . all of these things will last forever.  I John 2:15-17 says:

Do not love the world or the things in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For all that is in the world – the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and the pride in possessions – is not from the Father but is from the world.  And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.

Let’s follow hard after God – break free from the desire to have more things!  I know it is especially difficult in the United States where the media try to sell us so much and put seeds of discontentment in our hearts at every turn.  I want to be able to say with the Apostle Paul in Philippians 4:11-13:

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound.  In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

The only way to be content is to live with an awareness that God is with us, loves us, and has our spiritual good in mind through everything we encounter.

How about you?  Are you ready to live a life free of regret?  Investing in eternal things that you cannot lose?  Lets do this together, always aware of the grace of God to help us – we can’t do it without Him!

